After my first hour on the Silver Star I am thoroughly convinced that this is the only way to travel. Large comfy seats, a pen and pad, and a six pack in the seat beside me. We are still in the sprawling metropolis that is Florida City through Palm Beach, however I have already seen parts of this landscape new to me. Canals bisect our path through the lush vegetation of South Florida. Warehouses with barbed wire roofs and graffitied walls. Past old men playing dominoes and broken concrete buildings painted with the words bar-b-que on the side. A man fishes in a dirty canal sitting on a white bucket.

There is no place on earth I would rather be. Exploring the American rails in a coach class seat.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

